Kerry Washington and 12 Years a Slave Win NAACP Awards

Feb 24th, 2014


Kerry Washington and 12 Years a Slave Win NAACP Awards

On Saturday, Kerry Washington, Gabrielle Union and David Oyelowo were the big winners at TVOne’s airing of the 45th annual NAACP Awards.

The Butler (which got snubbed by Oscar), 12 Years a Slave and Scandal swept up the awards alongside Being Mary Jane.  The NAACP Awards once again celebrated excellece in black film, artists, writers, actors and philanthropists of color.

The Big winners were ABC’s Scandal for Outstanding Drama Series, Supporting Actor for Joe Morton and Actress for Kerry Washington. While on the film side, 12 Years a Slave and The Butler each earned wins in major categories.

Oscar favorite Lupita Nyong’o snagged Outstanding Supporting Actress for 12 Years, while David Oyelowo won Outstanding Supporting Actor for The Butler.

Here is the compelete listing of the NAACP Image Awards…

Check out the rest of this year’s winners below:


Outstanding Comedy Series

House of Lies
Modern Family
Real Husbands of Hollywood – WINNER
The Game
The Soul Man

Outstanding Actor in a Comedy Series

Andre Braugher – Brooklyn Nine-Nine
Cedric The Entertainer – The Soul Man
Don Cheadle – House of Lies
Dule Hill – Psych
Kevin Hart – Real Husbands of Hollywood – WINNER

Outstanding Actress in a Comedy Series

Aisha Tyler – Archer
Mindy Kaling – The Mindy Project
Niecy Nash – The Soul Man
Tasha Smith – Tyler Perry’s For Better or Worse
Wendy Raquel Robinson – The Game – WINNER

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

Boris Kodjoe – Real Husbands of Hollywood
Jerry Brooks (J.B. Smoove) – Real Husbands of Hollywood
Morris Chestnut – Nurse Jackie – WINNER
Nick Cannon – Real Husbands of Hollywood
Tracy Morgan – 30 Rock

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

Anna Deavere Smith – Nurse Jackie
Brandy Norwood – The Game – WINNER
Nia Long – House of Lies
Rashida Jones – Parks and Recreation
Sofia Vergara – Modern Family

Outstanding Drama Series

Boardwalk Empire
Grey’s Anatomy
Scandal – WINNER
The Good Wife

Outstanding Actor in a Drama Series

James Pickens, Jr. – Grey’s Anatomy
LL Cool J – NCIS: Los Angeles – WINNER
Michael Ealy – Almost Human
Shemar Moore – Criminal Minds
Wendell Pierce – Treme

Outstanding Actress in a Drama Series

Chandra Wilson – Grey’s Anatomy
Kerry Washington – Scandal – WINNER
Khandi Alexander – Treme
Nicole Beharie – Sleepy Hollow
Regina King – Southland

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

Columbus Short – Scandal
Guillermo Diaz – Scandal
Jeffrey Wright – Boardwalk Empire
Joe Morton – Scandal – WINNER
Michael Kenneth Williams – Boardwalk Empire

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

Archie Panjabi – The Good Wife
Debbie Allen – Grey’s Anatomy
Diahann Carroll – White Collar
Taraji P. Henson – Person of Interest – WINNER
Vanessa L. Williams – 666 Park Avenue

Outstanding Television Movie, Mini-Series or Dramatic Special

Being Mary Jane – WINNER
Betty Coretta
CrazySexyCool: The TLC Story
Muhammad Ali’s Greatest Fight

Outstanding Actor in a Television Movie, Mini-Series or Dramatic Special

Chiwetel Ejiofor – Dancing on the Edge
Danny Glover – Muhammad Ali’s Greatest Fight
Idris Elba – Luther – WINNER
Malik Yoba – Betty Coretta
Omari Hardwick – Being Mary Jane

Outstanding Actress in a Television Movie, Mini-Series or Dramatic Special

Angela Bassett – American Horror Story: Coven
Angela Bassett – Betty Coretta
Gabourey Sidibe – American Horror Story: Coven
Gabrielle Union – Being Mary Jane – WINNER
Keke Palmer – CrazySexyCool: The TLC Story

Outstanding Actor in a Daytime Drama Series

Aaron D. Spears – The Bold and the Beautiful
Kristoff St. John – The Young and the Restless – WINNER
Lawrence Saint Victor – The Bold and the Beautiful
Redaric Williams – The Young and the Restless
Tequan Richmond – General Hospital

Outstanding Actress in a Daytime Drama Series

Angell Conwell – The Young and the Restless
Christel Khalil – The Young and the Restless
Karla Mosley – The Bold and the Beautiful
Kristolyn Lloyd – The Bold and the Beautiful
Tatyana Ali – The Young and the Restless – WINNER

Outstanding News/Information – (Series or Special)

Justice for Trayvon
Mandela: Freedom’s Father
Oprah: Where Are They Now?
The African Americans: Many Rivers to Cross with Henry Louis Gates Jr. – WINNER

Outstanding Talk Series

Oprah’s Lifeclass
Oprah’s Next Chapter
Steve Harvey – WINNER
The Arsenio Hall Show
The Queen Latifah Show

Outstanding Reality Series

Iyanla: Fix My Life – WINNER
Shark Tank
Sunday Best
The Voice
Welcome to Sweetie Pie’s

Outstanding Variety Series or Special

12 Years A Slave: A TV One Special with Cathy Hughes
Black Girls Rock! – WINNER
Key Peele
Mike Tyson: Undisputed Truth
Oprah’s Master Class

Outstanding Children’s Program

2013 HALO Awards
A.N.T. Farm
Dora the Explorer
Postcards: Mandela
Wynton Marsalis: A YoungArts MasterClass – WINNER

Outstanding Performance in a Youth/Children’s Program – (Series or Special)

China Anne McClain – A.N.T. Farm – WINNER
Eric I. Keyes III – Live Life and Win!
Fatima Ptacek – Dora the Explorer
Karan Brar – Jessie
Zendaya – Shake It Up

Motion Pictures

Outstanding Motion Picture

12 Years A Slave – WINNER
Fruitvale Station
Lee Daniels’ The Butler
Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom
The Best Man Holiday

Outstanding Actor in a Motion Picture

Chadwick Boseman – 42
Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years A Slave
Forest Whitaker – Lee Daniels’ The Butler – WINNER
Idris Elba – Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom
Michael B. Jordan – Fruitvale Station

Outstanding Actress in a Motion Picture

Angela Bassett – Black Nativity – WINNER
Halle Berry – The Call
Jennifer Hudson – Winnie Mandela
Kerry Washington – Tyler Perry Presents Peeples
Nicole Beharie – 42

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Motion Picture

Cuba Gooding Jr. – Lee Daniels’ The Butler
David Oyelowo – Lee Daniels’ The Butler – WINNER
Morris Chestnut – The Best Man Holiday
Terrence Howard – Lee Daniels’ The Butler
Terrence Howard – The Best Man Holiday

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Motion Picture

Alfre Woodard – 12 Years A Slave
Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years A Slave – WINNER
Naomie Harris – Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom
Octavia Spencer – Fruitvale Station
Oprah Winfrey – Lee Daniels’ The Butler

Outstanding Independent Motion Picture

Blue Caprice
Dallas Buyers Club
Fruitvale Station – WINNER
The Inevitable Defeat of Mister Pete
The Trials of Muhammad Ali

Outstanding International Motion Picture

Call Me Kuchu
High Tech, Low Life
La Playa D.C.
Lion Ark
War Witch – WINNER

Outstanding Documentary – (Theatrical)

20 Feet from Stardom
Call Me Kuchu
Girl Rising
Free Angela and All Political Prisoners – WINNER
The New Black

Outstanding Documentary – (Television)

Beyoncé: Life Is But a Dream
Dark Girls
Richard Pryor: Omit the Logic – WINNER
Venus Vs.
Whoopi Goldberg Presents Moms Mabley

Related Posts